Popular Beat

Sometimes I suffer

from crippling insecurity.

Lately, I’ve been experiencing

A new kind of ingenuity.

 

So I’ll just lay it down.

4th quarter touchdown?

Throw that ball to the ground.

Don’t just stand around.

Don’t just play the crowd.

You gotta move some fucking people.

You gotta learn to be loud.

Word hard to be proud.

Take your head out

from underground.

 

You gotta conquer that popular beat.

You know you got the popular beat.

 

So I mow down all the grass

and weed.

Smoke trees.

The work of bees.

I rock the broke pockets and straight jeans,

I don’t choke when someone asks about bold things.

Coastin’ at 90 down a small road in an old man’s Cadi,

Cause the suspension feels better on hennessy.

Cause the intentions I harbor can’t carry me.

So I swim, swim, swim till they ferry me.

 

You gotta conquer that popular beat.

You know you got the popular beat.

 

Now I know when I walk down the street,

I don’t need to be carrying a piece.

I gotta care

even when you don’t like what you see.

#frenemy

 

I don’t care about your hate,

You’re already dead to me.

You can put a bullet in my head.

It won’t be the end of me.

You give me your dollar and some bread,

You ask for honor and respect,

You demand gravity and stress.

Take it from the 7-11,

They got it in perpetuity.

 

I just conquered that popular beat.

I know I got the popular beat.

 

 

Leave a Reply

